The Hong Kong International Film Festival presents five competition sections with the award winners decided by distinguished jury members consisting of renowned film industry professionals, film critics, directors and talent. The winners of the awards will be announced at the 35th HKIFF Awards Gala Ceremony held at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 at 7:00pm.

1. Asian Digital Competition
2. Humanitarian Awards for Documentaries
4. SIGNIS Award
5. Short Film Competition

Asian Digital Competition

The Asian Digital Competition encourages young filmmakers in Asia to explore the potentials of the digital film - a technology that is particularly affordable and amenable to intimate, personal expressions. The 35th HKIFF will select eight outstanding digital features by Asian filmmakers with a jury of three renowned personalities who will select the winners of the Golden Digital Award and Silver Digital Award.


Asian Digital Competition Jury

Raymond RED was born in Manila, the Philippines in 1965. He studied painting at the University of the Philippine College of Fine Arts and filmmaking at the Mowelfund Film Institute. His nearly 30-year career includes super-8mm and 16mm experimental works, music videos, television features and historical dramas. Red won the prestigious Cannes Palme d’Or for Best Short Film with 2000’s Anino. Selected Filmography: Bayani (92), Sakay (93), Kamada (97), Anino (00, short), Mistulang Kamera Obskura (06, short), Manila Skies (09).

Elisabeth LEQUERET is a journalist for Radio France Internationale and a film critic. Her work has been published in Cahiers du Cinéma, Film Comment and Le Monde, among others. Her publications include Le Cinéma africain (Cahiers du Cinema). She is also the French delegate for the Berlin Film Festival and works as a consultant for the San Francisco International Film Festival.

Stanley KWAN was born in Hong Kong in 1957. He studied at the Baptist College’s Department of Communications before working for TVB, first as an actor then later as a production man. In 1979, he left the station to work as assistant director. He made his directorial debut in 1985 with Women. Selected Filmography: Love Unto Waste (86), Rouge (88), Full Moon in New York (89), Centre Stage (92), Red Rose White Rose (94), Hold You Tight (98), Lan Yu (01), Everlasting Regret (05), Showtime (10), 13 Minutes in the Lives of… (11, short).

Nominees: Balangay, Dance Town, Eternity, Fit, Good Morning to the World!!, Old Dog, Senior Year, The Sun Beaten Path


Golden Digital Award: Old Dog Directed by Pema Tsedan
Silver Digital Award: Eternity  

Directed by Sivaroj Kongsakul

Special Mention: The Sun Beaten Path Directed by Directed by Sonthar Gyal